Series: Chung Kuo

Author: David Wingrove

The Middle Kingdom (2004)
3.86 of 5 Votes: 5
            Okay, so the rundown is as follows. Chung Kuo is a future history on an epic, operatic scale. The book traces the start of the "War of Two Directions", a conflict between the Confucianist stasis of the ruling Chinese empire and the upper-class Europeans who wish for progress, change, ...
The Broken Wheel (1991)
3.94 of 5 Votes: 5
Where the first book set up the world of Chung Kuo nicely, and set a decent pace for the events that took place, this book just drags. I can't describe my level of annoyance and disgust when, for example, getting to the 7/8ths point of the book, I saw story threads for Ben Shepherd just gettin...
The White Mountain (1992)
3.87 of 5 Votes: 2
This is the third book of the initially very promising 'Chung Kuo' series. Alas, by this point the series is well off the rails, and all that early promise is pretty much lost. The bigger more epic issues raised by the first book are largely dropped in favor of what is increasingly a meloadrama...