Series: Flavia De Luce

Author: Alan Bradley

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust (2000)
4.11 of 5 Votes: 3
Flavia de Luce has come back stronger than ever! Although the last bit of her story was mostly sad, her adventure in the New World has brought back some of her sassiness and fun. Leaving her home in England and journeying to Canada allows Flavia to see that the world is much larger than she coul...
Vorhang auf für eine Leiche (2011)
4.07 of 5 Votes: 5
Flavia, up to her old tricks and getting into trouble. Love this series. Another great installment in one of my favorite series! Perfect winter break read.
Flavia de Luce y el misterio de la gitana (2011)
4.06 of 5 Votes: 5
You know when you discover something you love so much that you really don't want anyone else in the world to know about it? This book series is one of those things. The characters and setting are depicted so well that I find myself wanting to know them as people in real life. The third book in th...
Slast na dnu pite (2009)
3.79 of 5 Votes: 1
My final book of 2014 was The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. This is not my usual sort of book, because it's a murder mystery set in 1950s England with an 11 year old protagonist. As you probably know, I mostly read SFF books, and indeed I received a number of big, heavy fant...
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (2014)
4.14 of 5 Votes: 3
Not as good as I expected. Part of a series. Perhaps it would have been better if I had read the first ones. Flavia's mother's body has been found, frozen in a glacier for 10 years. When she is brought back home for a funeral, another death occurs. Eleven year old Flavia starts finding clues and ...
Schlussakkord für einen Mord (2012)
4.18 of 5 Votes: 1
Sie gräbt nicht nur Hinweise ausManchmal findet Flavia auch Tote und zu Beginn dieses fünften Band denkt sie darüber nach, dass ihr ja gerade noch ein Toter fehlt, um die Finger einer Hand voll zu machen. Als ob man es nicht ahnen würde, findet Flavia bei der Öffnung des Grabes eines 500 Jahre al...
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (2011)
4.07 of 5 Votes: 2
How I do love the Flavia series! I bought this novel No. 4 several months ago and have been "saving it." Now that book No. 5 is soon to come out in paperback, I am indulging myself, with the knowledge that more will come soon. I truly admire Alan Bradley's writing.A few of the cleverest quotat...
A Red Herring Without Mustard (2011)
4.06 of 5 Votes: 3
These books are so well done because even though we get are in Flavia's brain she stil manages to know who did it before we do and reveal it all with a flourish! All the characters here are very deep and we still never truly know what they're about, especially in this case when there's not just ...
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (2009)
3.79 of 5 Votes: 5
_The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie_ is a perfectly intriguing mystery of the old fashioned sort, set in the small English village Bishop's Lacey in the summer of 1950. Its main character, nearly 11-year-old Flavia de Luce, has a solid knowledge of chemistry and a passion for poisons. It all ...
Speaking from Among the Bones (2012)
4.18 of 5 Votes: 4
#5 Flavia de Luce - Mystery seriesEleven year old Flavia de Luce is accompanying her older sister Ophelia to frequent musical practices on the church's antiquated organ. Flavia would much rather be in her laboratory, or reading books on chemistry, or poisons.While the family estate, Buckshaw, ha...
The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag (2010)
3.97 of 5 Votes: 4
As with the first book in this series ("The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie"), "Weed's" great appeal and entertainment stems from Flavia. Her observations and insights are often hilarious and spooky at the same time. Dare I say: if all 11-year-old children were this bright, the world would a...